what it taught me

5 Things I Wish I Didn’t Learn The Hard Way

I’m in my 20s. I’m still young, but I’m old enough to have learned some things in life. Here’s a list of things I’ve had to learn the hard way.

image
Source: http://ignitelight.tumblr.com/post/102285369512

1. Keep your mouth shut One thing I heard growing up about my grandpa was that he was always the quiet type who chose his words carefully. Boy, oh boy, I wish I had inherited that. So many situations I got myself into could have been avoided if I had just kept my big mouth shut. There’s a time to speak up & a time to stand up for yourself, but it wasn’t either 99% of the time I ran my mouth.

2. Don’t expect perfection Whether you have expectations of yourself or someone else, wanting perfection will just set you up for disappointment. After all, we’re human. Just remember: “To err is human. To arr is pirate.” Let these obviously important words remind you that it’s okay to make mistakes or have bad days.

3. Don’t procrastinate It’s really easy to put things off until the last minute, but it’s not worth the stress. There’s been a lot of projects for school that I would have had a lot of fun with, and even enjoyed, if I had started sooner. (Any professor I’ve ever had is probably shaking their head right now.)

4. Mom is right Goodness, that’s hard to admit sometimes, but it’s true. I know this won’t apply to everyone, but I’m lucky enough to have a set of loving parents. I’ve found that they know what they’re talking about.

5.People aren’t psychic People don’t know what you want unless you tell them. Never expect people to just know something, no matter how obvious it seems or how close they are to you. They can’t read your mind. So the next time someone messes up or didn’t guess something, don’t get mad. Use your words. Tell them why you’re upset and move on. In the same way, the next time they get upset with you, communicate. Talk, don’t react. Most misunderstandings can be cured with a little communication, but it takes someone willing to talk first.

Anyway, I’m going to stop there. Take warning from my mistakes. Most importantly, don’t beat yourself up when you make your own mistakes. It’s how you get closer to doing what’s right for you and being happy. Please tell me some lessons you had to learn the hard way. We can have one big wisdom party! 😉

I’ll be seeing you soon. Be sure to check out the Facebook page for updates & behind the scenes of the site. If you really loved today’s blog, feel free to share, like, & comment! Your feedback helps me decide what to post!

Love always,
Kara

3 thoughts on “5 Things I Wish I Didn’t Learn The Hard Way

  1. Those are powerful lessons. #5 is a constant challenge for me. If we believe people know what we want and they do the opposite, it’s easy to convince ourselves it’s intentional. I’m doing great with 1-4! #2 has provided the greatest healing. Great post! Thanks for sharing 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

