what it taught me

What It Taught Me: What I Learned From A Microphone

I’m an introvert. I always have been, and signs are indicating that I always will be. I’ve never had fantastic social skills, and I feel my best when I’m around a small group of people I know well. I’m also a creative person with the need to express myself and perform. These can be pretty conflicting traits. I suppose that’s why I’ve always turned to writing, crafting, and going behind the scenes on projects. I can express myself and let my creativity and imagination take over, all without having to be around large groups of people or even talking to anyone. It’s always worked out for me. Imagine my surprise when I signed up for a script writing class at my college, only to learn after the school year started that the class was actually a part of the radio broadcasting program and that I would be working at the college radio station. Well, I thought, This is certainly going to be different. During the first conversation I had with my professor, I told him the truth: I had anxiety and that included social anxiety. I was starting treatment for it, but it would be a while before I would be comfortable enough to be able to speak in front of a large group of people. Much to my relief, he said that would be fine, and that I wouldn’t have to do anything that made me uncomfortable. Fast forward a few months: I’m doing good, really good, with managing my anxiety. I’ve learned how radio works, how to run the board, how to record and edit pieces that will run on-air. I was ready, I decided, to try to do some broadcasting. When I told my professor, he said, “That’s great. Do you want a show?” I probably blinked and looked at him like he had just asked me to go feed some dinosaurs. Nevertheless, I agreed. From then on, it was surprisingly smooth sailing. I had a show. I barely talked, but I did talk. I started broadcasting at live remotes around the area. I learned a lot about myself and a lot about other people. Most importantly, I learned that I could do something I had never before thought possible. I can put on a pair of headphones and talk into a microphone even though I know that people are actually listening. I’m not great at it. I’m still a student and I make mistakes. I have a high pitched dolphin voice and sometimes I sound like I’m doing an impression of Ruby from Max and Ruby. That’s not what is important, though. What’s important is that I gained the self confidence it took to take a microphone and talk into. I gained the ability to comfortably talk to people, ask for an interview, and how to be comfortable with being myself. These are all things I never thought I would be able to learn, but it’s what the microphone taught me.   That’s, all I have for you today, lovies! Thanks for reading. If you want to stay up to date with my posts and get some extra stuff, be sure to follow my Facebook page! Until next time, Kara

2 thoughts on “What It Taught Me: What I Learned From A Microphone

  1. I’m an introvert as well. I have horrible social skills yet I have a considerably large group of friends. I like being alone and have so much to relate to you and this post! I look forward to reading more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

