Uncategorized

What I Wish I Would Have Learned Sooner

We’ve all been at a point in our lives where we don’t like ourselves. Whether it’s our body image or personality quirks we dislike, everyone has wished they could be like someone else. 

I used to be the worst about this. My self-esteem was low. I was incredibly insecure. I wanted to be like someone else, everyone else. I was looking at the world through the filter of my depression and the angst of my anxiety and it wasn’t fun.

Since then, through growing up, seeking treatment, the support of my family and friends, and a few good books, I’m happy to say I have a much better image of myself. I’m not insecure anymore. I don’t think I’m perfect or anything, but I’m content with my flaws. I’ve finally reached a place that seemed impossible: I’m comfortable in my own skin. 

So what helped me ditch my insecurities? I learned a little secret: no one is perfect. Alright, that seems a little obvious, but look at it this way: that girl that shows up to class looking airbrushed, the one that makes you feel awful about yourself–she has insecurities too. She didn’t start her day out or decide to look pretty just to make you feel bad about yourself. In fact, she has someone that makes her feel the exact same way you feel about yourself when you see her. Everyone has someone or something like that. We’re all on the same playing field. Don’t let someone else’s appearance or popularity or talent make you feel less beautiful or amazing or worthy of anything than you are.

Well, that’s all I have for you for now! Just remember that everyone is in the same boat, so don’t be afraid to make a splash. You were made to shine.

Love,

Kara 

One thought on “What I Wish I Would Have Learned Sooner

Leave a Reply

