Uncategorized

Random, Awesome Things

So here is a random fact about me: I love hearing random trivia. I don’t always retain it, but it’s nice to hear. The folks over at mental floss think so too. They are a magazine dedicated to delivering awesome facts. In fact, they have a fact generator on their website. Here’s 10 awesome pieces of trivia I snagged from there.

“In the Peanuts comic strip, Peppermint Patty’s real name is Patricia Reichardt.” I have literally wondered what her real name is my entire life. Mystery solved! Now I can spend the rest of my time wondering how 6 socks go in the dryer but only 5 come out. 

“Pringles chips are named after a street in Finneytown, a tiny Cincinnati suburb.”

“On the 2011 Czech Republic census, over 15,000 people listed their religion as ‘Jedi.'”

“For one day in 1998, Topeka, Kansas renamed itself ‘ToPikachu’ to mark Pokemon’s U.S. debut.”

“Though it’s rarely used, the word referring to half a computer byte is a ‘nibble.'”

“Nintendo, the popular video game company, was actually founded in 1889 as a playing card company.”

“The hole in your shirt that you put your arm through is called an ‘armsaye.'”

“More than 300 million Cadbury Creme Eggs are produced each year.”

“Ironically, the only member of ZZ Top without a beard has the last name Beard.”

“Atari co-founder Nolan Bushnell is also responsible for starting up the Chuck E. Cheese’s franchise.” So this man is responsible for good childhood memories of multiple generations!

All right, everyone! That’s all I have for you today! Thank you so much for reading, I hope you found some interesting things. My challenge for you today is to find ways to casually slip these into conversation! 

Have a great day,

Kara

Leave a Reply

